Minutes of BCS APSG AGM 8:30pm 13th October 2016

Present:

Rob Packwood, Chairman
Algirdas Pakstas, Vice Chair/Membership Secretary
Joseph Zuniga Daly, Treasurer
Geoff Sharman, Recording Officer
Bob Beatson, Committee Member
Roger Johnson, Committee Member
Jan Kim, Committee Member

Apologies:

Peter Seymour, Webmaster Joe Woodward, Events Coordinator

Chairman's Report

Rob Packwood reported that eight meetings had been held during the past year as follows:

- Jozef Doboš, 3D Repo Non-linear Version Control using NoSQL MongoDB
- António Roldão, The Bitcoin Innovation
- · Rob Davey, Building Infrastructure for Open Science
- Geoff Sharman, The Evolution of Enterprise Systems 1965 to 2005
- · Malcolm Sherrington, The Shape of Languages to Come
- Rafig Swash, Advanced Programming for Holoscopic 3D Imaging
- Stefan Rüger, Visual Mining Interpreting Image and Video
- Dominique Guinard, The Web of Things Architecture: leveraging the power of the Web to build the IoT

The group now had 1531 registered members. Its LinkedIn group has 147 members, Twitter account has 18 followers and the Facebook page has 47 followers. Rob saw Facebook as an important channel for contact with members in future. The YouTube channel continues to generate interest, with one recording being viewed 129 times.

The annual survey via SurveyMonkey collected 69 responses this year. The talk on The Web of Things was the most popular, while the most attended talk was that on The Bitcoin Innovation. The most referenced talk was that on The Shape of Languages to Come. The most desired topic for future talks was Cloud Computing, together with Software Techniques. For the first time, more people expressed a preference for viewing a video recording of a meeting than for attending in person.

Rob said that that night's talk, on Hybrid Cloud Integration, had responded to one finding of the survey. Other talks were being considered for this season but he was unable to give a list at present.

Treasurer's Report

Joe Daly reported that the budget for the past year was £1,225 and the same budget had been approved for the forthcoming year to August 2017.

Expenditure had included £361.24 for catering, £49.91 for committee name badges and £35.10 for speaker expenses, totalling £446.25. [During the past year, and in view of the unspent budget, the committee had decided that all future meetings would be followed by buffet receptions. It was hoped that this might encourage greater attendance at meetings.]

Election of Officers

The following were elected for the 2016/17 year:

Chairman: Algirdas Pakstas Treasurer: Joseph Zuniga Daly

Secretary/Membership Secretary: Peter Seymour

The other committee members were re-elected en bloc, with roles to be agreed the next future committee meeting.

Any Other Business

There was no other business and the meeting closed at 8pm.